Entry 69: Vampire vs. Vampire

I just came across a piece of news that says The Last Vampire by Christopher Pike will be made into a movie. Well, for starters, this is one of my all time favourite book. It comes in a series of 6 books, but I have to say I love the first book the most. The rest doesn’t even come close. In fact, it could be my all time favourite novel.

The main character in the book, Sita, to me, is like the coolest person ever. Yes, I know I’m warbling like a 13 year old girl, but that’s how old I was when I read this book. And I still think she’s cool. She kicks ass man! She uses guns. She knows martial arts. She’s a GIRL. I so wanted to be like her. And the fact that she’s immortal, well… Yes, other people at 13 wanted to be doctors or lawyers. I wanted to be a vampire who kicked ass and used Uzis while doing somersaults to kill.

There’s also another reason why I love this book. I formed a bond with someone over this book. We both love vampires. We love Sita. And for a while I was his Sita and he was my Ray (Ray is the name of Sita’s human love interest). We both wished we were vampires. We were 16. We were dumb. But we formed a bond nonetheless.

Twilight can’t even come close to the awesomeness of the characters and story in this book. This book has depth. It has dimensions. The characters grow. I was able to relate to the characters. I was able to reflect. Twilight was a flat piece of repetitive writing. Twilight sucked.

I hope they portray every single scene in the movie exactly the same way it was written in the book. I hope I can feel 13 again when watching this movie.

Ray, we so have to watch this together.

~ by shikuzika on May 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
